James “Guadalupe” Carney

guadalupe carney

Profile:

Name: James Francis Carney

D.O.B: 1924
P.O.B: Chicago, Illinois, U.S.A.
D.O.D: 1983

Ordained: 1961
Religious Affiliation: Roman Catholic (Jesuit)

Mission to British Honduras (Belize): 1955
Mission to Honduras: 1961
Expelled from Honduras to Nicaragua: 1979
Return to Honduras: 1983
as Central American Revolutionary Workers’ Party (PRTC) chaplain.
Assassinated: 1983

Major Fields: Poetry, Liberation Theology, Sandinista Theology of Revolution, “Revolution without Vengeance”, Marxism

This page is under construction. As posts about James “Guadalupe” Carney are produced, links to them will appear on this page.

Published by

theologyispoetry

I'm a writer and youth worker based in Perth, Western Australia. I study theology and politics, desiring to be conscious and critical of power, inequality and violence. Liberation Theologies and Postcolonial Studies inform my work and my thinking. My mind is stimulated by relationships, books, films, history, social theorising, poetry, especially hip-hop, and the community in which I work. I write from Perth, the "Swan River Colony", and thus on colonised Noongar-Whadjuk land. Much of where I live is virtually segregated. I commit to working for a reconciliation based on justice, reparations, self-determination and dialogue within every area of my professional and social life. A recent diagnosis of Aspergers Syndrom explains a whole lot about any interests or insights I have. I'm coming to grips with ASD through this blog. Taking a postcolonial critique to "neurotypical normativity" and the demonisation and misunderstanding of "neurodiversity" is probably where I'll take my study and work in the future. One day I dream of teaching at a university, but life will bring what it will.

Leave a Reply

